Well, We Don’t Like Being ‘Eye Candy’ Either…

So I recently went and saw the Ghostbusters movie in theatres with my sister and co-worker, Taylor, and I really really enjoyed the film (maybe I’ll review it another time) A few days after watching the movie, I stumbled upon some posts and articles posted on Facebook written by some enraged guys about Chris Hemsworth’s character Kevin in the film. People were mad that he played a dumb guy who was basically just there for his good looks. (The term I read that was used frequently was ‘Eye Candy’ )

Now normally I’m not one to whine or complain about this kind of stuff but I just want to say this. ‘Us girls don’t like it when you do this to us, either.

Normally I’m not one for the whole time to give you a taste of your own medicine thing…but right now this actually applies quite well. I think it was interesting and kind of nice to have the roles reversed for once because finally…FINALLY people are starting to slowly come to the realization that ‘hey. It totally sucks when this guy/girl is a total dummy and only there because they are attractive. What does that make me?’

My question and main concern is Why? Why aren’t people taking a stand against the creation of characters like this? Like, don’t get me wrong. These kinds of characters are HILARIOUS. But what is that also telling us about how much people and the media seem to take the looks of people for granted and nothing else really matters? – Now I’m NOT saying we all need to riot till things are changed but do you think there is any way this kind of thing can be changed? or should?

I ask this for the reason looking at it from a girls point of view here. But to me, it seems women’s bodies are so sexualized in our society and we and our bodies are turned into some sort of pleasure for the eye. And what do we and our bodies then become? Eye candy. There for the pure and simple enjoyment of the eyes of others. Women these days don’t seem to be held to high standards because they are clever. Its based a LOT on how we look and its one of the many things messing with many people in our society today. As women we want to be like these models or whoever and have a body like theirs to even get a guy to look at us or get their attention but then we have to worry about guys who may not wanna keep their hands (or words) to themselves. Everything has spiralled out of control based on this whole idea of people and characters only being around for the sole reason of being ‘Eye Candy’ to others.

Until Next Time,

siggy

 

 

This post was originally posted on my blog ‘Crazy Little Thing Called Life’ here

Please Note: I’m not saying all guys are horrid people or whatever. I’m just looking deeper into an issue that can and is spiralling out of control even with simple and further promptings with characters who are dumb and really only there cause they look good to the other characters or whatever. (and I’m using the example of women cause I am a woman and yeah….you get my point)

Leave a Reply

