P-Pete’s Dragon

P

Hey there!

Its Kara S. back again with another post. Two days in a row…hope you’re not tired of me yet. 😉

For letter “P” I want to talk about one of my favorite old-school Disney movies: PETE’S DRAGON.

Trailing along the same era as Chitty-Chitty-Bang-Bang, Escape to Witch Mountain, The Aristocats, and The Island at the Top of the World, this movie is sure to enthrawl. Its fun, witty, meaningful, whimsical, exciting…and a bit cheesy. Because, let’s be honest, a cartoon dragon running around making footprints in wet cement? But that’s what gave this live-action Disney movie so much charm.

THE MOVIE

THE MUSIC

Relying on talent such as Mickey Rooney and Hellen Reddy, this movie had a wide selection of vivid songs, as most Disney musicals did.

From the playful Brazzle Dazzle Day…sung by Nora, a kindly lighthouse keeper and her father, who take the young orphan Pete in while he’s on the run.

And the sweet Its Not Easy, sung by Pete, while describing his “imaginary” dragon, and talking about the importance of friendship.

To the touching and winsome, Candle on the Water, where Nora encourages her missing sea captain lover that she will help to guide him home.

Another of my favorites is There’s Room For Everyone In This World where Nora encourages the schoolhouse children to accept Pete’s imaginary friend (and any outsiders) because, as she so aptly puts it: “He only wants to be loved…just the way God planned it.”

Its these little nuggets of wisdom that truly make the film shine. How it can take an imaginative, gentle story to touch on deeper topics.

THE REMAKE

Since this movie was a sweet flicker of my childhood, I was in shock when I came across the first poster of the new remake on Facebook.

I was like…WHAAAA? I had no idea this was even a possibility!

//giphy.com/embed/1hYjn8Vy0KYes

via GIPHY

Then I saw the trailer. Its different…

Very different. However, I have enough faith in Disney that I have hope they won’t totally botch the movie. In fact, I’ve really enjoyed a lot of their recent reboots. If anything, this looks like a totally different take on the boy who has an imaginary dragon–who’s far less imaginary. Because they certainly aren’t trying to copy the original, I’m willing to hang in there and see what they come up with.

How about you? What do you think? Have you ever seen the original Pete’s Dragon? Does this remake excite you at all? Will you be seeing it in theaters? Why or why not?

Thanks Fanpeople! Have a great day!Kara_Swanson_signature-2

3 thoughts on “P-Pete’s Dragon

  1. jeremyh05251977 says:

    I loved this original film, I time I remember looking for my invisible “friend” and here I think I get it… a new generation version. I will not see, I will keep my memories. In the A TO Z CHALLENGE magazine I designed features Elliot… if you haven’t seen it yet? 🙂

    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2016]

    Stop over and find a free “SIX STRINGS: BLOGGING AtoZ CHALLENGE” Here: http://www.jmhdigital.com/

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Like

  2. nicmarray says:

    It’s been forever and a day since I watched Pete’s Dragon – and I dig the tunes from the movie too! I am looking forward to the remake, but I really need to get a copy of the original – if it’s still out of the Disney vault.

    Like

Leave a Reply

