M- Mythology: Riordan Style

Wow! Almost halfway through April and this challenge already?

Time has literally just flown by like crazy. I can’t believe it.

giphy-12

 

So today I’m going to kinda fangirl over and talk about the Percy Jackson books! Maybe kinda give my overall thoughts of the books/series Riordan has published so far. I’m honestly making this up as I do so I’m not sure how it’s gonna turn out exactly.

Basically I’m a newbie to the Percy Jackson Fandom for a couple reasons…the main one being I wasn’t allowed to read the books when I was younger so I kind of forgot about them and then when I was like 17 I’d been hearing more and more about them and then last year a friend gave me his books to borrow cause they are apparently still VERY popular books at my library and I was like the 20th person in line for my holds on the books. BUT needless to say I got into them pretty fast and it took me about a month or two to get through both the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and the Heroes of Olympus Series. (Actually making this post is reminding me that I need to get my Camp Halfblooded shirt fixed because apparently some people do not know how to properly stitch/sew a shirt together…Cause I kinda wanna be able to wear it this summer.)

Also can we take a moment to appreciate this wonderful cosplay before I move on?

144b04b4f4d5afca214e5325cb75e425

Okay so I have been a HUGE fan of mythology of all sorts since I was about 10 years old (so I have no idea why I wasn’t allowed to read the books 😛 ) so I was excited to see the way Riordan conveyed these different characters in Mythology.

I love how, unlike Mythology, the main characters aren’t the god’s themselves because going into it I wasn’t sure how involved they would be. I like the even mix of how often the gods appeared. Like they were main characters but it wasn’t all about them. (With some of their personalities some of the characters would like to think it is all about them but… 😉 ) The whole idea of the books themselves is such a unique idea that I honestly wish I could interview Riordan himself and ask how he came up with the idea for these books and many other things. (So many questionsssssssss)

My Ratings for the Books:

The Lightning Thief (PJO #1) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

The Sea of Monsters (PJO #2) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ (4.5)

The Titans Curse (PJO #3) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

The Battle of the Labyrinth (PJO #4) – ❤ ❤ ❤

The Last Olympian (PJO #5) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

 

The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

The Son of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus #2) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus #3) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus #4) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus #5) – ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

 

The Sword of Summer ( Magus Chase and the Gods of Summer #1) – ❤ ❤ – This book was (sadly) a DNF for me. I really really wanted to like this book but really found it hard to get into and I’m having trouble connecting with the main characters of the story and I feel so detached. I’m not sure if my Throne of Glass-Queen of Shadows withdrawal is just making it impossible to read anything else or what…. I’ve been in a ‘mood’ with my reading lately. BUT anyways, I sadly wasn’t a huge fan of the book 😦

2 thoughts on “M- Mythology: Riordan Style

Leave a Reply

