B – “But You’re A Girl!” (Gamer Girls)

Its Day 2 of the A to Z challenge and here I am! Adriana G. is in the house!

This post is mainly directed towards Gamer Girls today cause well… I’m a gamer AND a girl BUT this doesn’t mean that if you aren’t either of those things you can’t read this post…Just so you all know πŸ˜‰

giphy-6

YOU play video games? But you’re a girl!” or “Girls can’t play video games!” are things I’ve heard often….

There are a fair amount of people who like to tell me this often. Whether its that guy at that comic convention or that 10 year old boy who thinks video games are only for boys. (or at least ones that aren’t Just Dance or Mario Party/Kart) Funny thing is though…most the time I’m not asking for peoples opinions. Though I guess thats always how it works, eh?

I’m that girl who was raised by a nerd. I’ve been reading comics, watching tv shows like the spiderman cartoons, and playing video games for as long as I remember really. I kinda moved away from comics (but still read them time to time) and now have become attached to movies and tv but ESPECIALLY video games.

The video games I’ve played over the years have been things from like Sonic, Mario Party, Wii Sports (and other such games), Mario Kart, Guitar Hero, Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat, Little Big Planet, Lego Games and then I moved on to RPG games like Final Fantasy (7, 10, 13, 13-2, 13:Lighting Returns), W.O.W, Star Wars: The Old Republic, Diablo III, and (my absolute favourite) Skyrim: Elder Scrolls!

024d0c0b12742e70f267a4109e32871d
Deal with it. *z-snap*

I will say that (kinda jumping back to the first bit of the post quick) that its weird to me how much things have changed in ways of what boys and girls can or can’t do because its ‘not for girls/guys’ and by how much things have changed I mean in reference too when I was in Grade 2 (so however old one is when in grade 2 πŸ˜› ) and to now.

Those above comments I’ve gotten were not ones I heard as a young girl who loves video games just as much as (if not more than) I do now! They are ones I’ve heard constantly the last few years in my teenage/young adult life. Cause I’m just saying, when I was little is was the coolest thing if you played video games! It didn’t matter if you were a boy or girl. (It was the same way with the Pokemon card game too. Just sayin. Those Pokemon tournaments at recess were always so freaking intense, man.) But now its some whole big issue! and its not just with video games either!

giphy-5

Now I’m not one of those people who freak out about equality and girls should be able to do the same things as guys (cause though I do agree people should be treated equally, there are things girls can do that guys can’t and the other way around so yah) but when it comes to what one likes to do on their free time and is as harmless as a video game (or sports or other hobby/activity), it shouldn’t be something people have diva tantrums about!

Video games are made to be enjoyed by all people! and because of that, I proudly stand here and say. “I’m a girl and I play video games. Not only do I play them but I LOVE then.”

 

 

16 thoughts on “B – “But You’re A Girl!” (Gamer Girls)

  1. jeremyh05251977 says:

    All hail… you are better than games than me, I work in a gaming store.. I keep putting the PS4 games into the XBOX-ONE… I am surprised that I am not fired. πŸ™‚

    Welcome in the letter “B”… thank you!
    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2016]

    Stop over and find a free “SIX STRINGS: BLOGGING AtoZ CHALLENGE” Here: http://www.jmhdigital.com/

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tasha Duncan-Drake (@beren_writes) says:

    I am really bad at most video games – I’m still stuck at Wolfenstein (the original) – but people are still making interesting new levels for it, so I’m happy :). I find it very frustrating that some people are so defensive about letting girls into gaming – it seems absurd to me. If you like video games you’re a gamer, end of story, gender should not come into it.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bftreviews says:

    For me it’s not the “But your a girl” comments, it’s the oh so you’re a girl can I have your email/number/etc. Or you get all the gross comments from gross guys. I often don’t tell other players that I’m a girl and some times even straight up say I’m a guy to avoid all that. I had someone ask someone who was playing a girl character if they had big boobs. Like what kind of question is that?! Turns out he was asking a guy so it backfired on him hehe πŸ˜‰ Nice post!

    Chelsea @ Books for Thought

    Liked by 1 person

      1. bftreviews says:

        Yea it’s quite the topic for sure. There’s lot of different directions you could go it but it obviously all comes back to gender expectations. Maybe one day we’ll be free of them.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. artman413 says:

    I actually get excited whenever I meet a girl who’s into comics or video games, or both!

    Sadly, that’s a rarity for me, and I was unfortunate enough not to know any geek girls growing up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

