LABYRINTH – or Why I Should’t Watch Quirky Movies so Soon after Philosophy Class

Greetings Fanpeople!!  Maddy C. back again after the epicness that was STAR WARS: The Blog Strikes Back. (If you haven’t seen it yet, you should go see it now – because it’s awesome.)

A little while ago I watched LABYRINTH; you might only have heard the title or seen the trailer, it’s from the 80’s and has David Bowie in it.  Anywho, the summary is as follows (From IMDB):

‘A selfish 16-year old girl is given 13 hours to solve a labyrinth and rescue her baby brother when her wish for him to be taken away is granted by the Goblin King.’

First of all, as a huge fan of fairytales, let me say that the movie was Grimm’s Fairytales esq.   I have read all of Grimm’s fairytales, and as confusing, gruesome, and dark as they may sometimes seem – they are quite good (and by quite good, I mean GREAT – read them, they are awesome). There are certain themes that are present in both Labyrinth and Grimm’s Fairytales; having a decent amount of exposure to the original fairytales, I felt that the movie had a sense of foreboding.

To be honest, I do not care at all for the protagonist/heroine, Sara.  As a big sister (of 6 no less!) I have been annoyed by siblings more times than I can count, and my stuff has been stolen (or destroyed) more times than I can count.  That being said, I would never, ever wish for harm to befall them.  That’s where Sara lost me,  you do not just leave a baby crying in their crib, while shouting at them.  She does redeem herself somewhat in the end by saving her brother from Jareth, the goblin king; buuuut I still don’t care for her.

The point of this post is not to bash Sara, it is rather about the purpose behind her journey.

To me it seems that Labyrinth is a cautionary tale of growing up and yet also being stuck in the past – which can be harmful not only to yourself, but also those around you, (e.g. Sara giving up her baby brother to goblin king Jareth to become a goblin).

In the Bible, Paul says:

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.      1 Corinthians 13:11   KJV

(At last, why I can’t seem to drum up the enthusiasm for playing Barbie anymore.)

200_s.gif

When Sara tries to stay a child forever, (no responsibilities, YAY!) it doesn’t quite turn out. Instead of successfully escaping from the real world,

200_s-1.gif

Sara ends up looking like a spoiled brat who needs a smack to help her get her head on straight.  Instead of getting smacked, she gets to go on an awesome adventure that puts her head on straight while giving us the awesome weirdness that is Labyrinth.

Now I’m not trying to say that you should put away all ‘childish’ things; childishness, like beauty, can be in the eye of the beholder.  We’re geeks!  We thrive on ‘childish’ things like dress-up, colouring books, comic books, etc.  The important thing is to remember that while it may be fun to ‘live’ in the worlds of our favourite characters for a time, at some point we have to come out and face our reality, though it may sometimes be drab and depressing.

The important thing to remember about all this is that You are the Hero (or Heroine as the case may be) of your own story, and that’s pretty awesome.

 

-Maddy C.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

