Cosplays! – 4th Doctor, Amy Pond and a Weeping Angel!

Hello Fanpeople!

Adriana G. here 🙂

I thought I would kick things off with some cosplay tutorials! Doctor Who is my Gram’s and my favourite show and we often have Doctor Who marathons at her home and its a blast…So naturally when we heard there was going to be a small comic con in Lethbridge be both jumped at the chance to make costumes (The Convention was really not all that good and VERY tiny! But a year after we went to the local convention, My Gram and I took our costumes to Dallas, Texas for a Doctor Who convention! (That is a story for another time!)

Okay so its fairly long so I’m going to jump right into the post. But if you are looking for a way to make a Weeping Angel costume and have NO freaking idea how to go about it, read this post.

So…for the local convention a few years ago, My sister (who was 12), Gram and I all did Doctor Who cosplays for a local comic con so I will also show what they did for those as well as my tutorial.

So for my sister’s costume she did Amy Pond (the 11th Doctors companion)

costume amy

The shoes and skirt we found fairly cheap at Ardene (thanks to their EPIC deals) the tights we found in the Halloween area of Value Village and the sweater came from the sweater section of Value Village 🙂 the eye liner is for the tally marks she will put on her arms (and possibly face) (for those of you who don’t know what the tally marks are they are to mark whenever the character in the episode saw this alien because every time they looked away they forgot they saw the alien…. Anyways)

Also last but not least the temporary hair dye. Amy Pond has red hair and my sister doesn’t xD so…. That’s what that is for 🙂

This is the full costume

costume (complete)

NOW! Grammy’s costume!

costume

Gram went to the Lethbridge Comic Con as the 4th Doctor.

The roll of red was some fabric we bought at the fabric store for a handkerchief. The Vest and Jacket(which is under the hat 😉 ) were in the men’s costume section at Value Village (which we were lucky to find 🙂 ) T

he Hat and Scarf were from a Halloween store (Halloween Spirit ) The scarf is actually the 4th doctors scarf and the hat was something gram found 🙂

Here is the full costume:

costume Doctor (complete)

TA DA! Don’t they look awesome??


 

So…NOW I’ll show you all the stuff we bought for my costume then the tutorial.

OKAY! So mine took a lot of materials but… HERE WE GO!

Alright! So let’s do this! XD

Costume costume
-The Wire we got from Home Hardware and goes in the bottom of the dress to keep the skirt round 🙂

– we got 2 Plastic Masks for the two different Weeping Angel faces.

-2 packs of paperclay for the masks (we didn’t even use one whole package so one is enough 😉 )

– Pair of wings (from the Halloween store)

-1 package of fake nails from the dollar store

– 3 packs of tights for the arms and face (Halloween section at Value Village) *NOTE* WE did NOT end up using this for the arms and neck and instead went for face paint purchased at Halloween Spirit

-The Gray Fabric (first pic) was from Fabricland and was called mummy mesh (and it was on the Halloween 50% off rack 😉 )we found out that it worked PERFECTLY AND DRAPED over the base of the dress beautifully (you’ll see later 😉 )

-(2ND PIC)

-2 cans of gray temporary hair dye (since I  refused to wear a wig)

– I pack of (glow in the dark) fangs which we bought at the Halloween section at Value Village (doesn’t matter wether they glow cause they were painted over later)

-2 bottles of grey Acrilic paint (for the arms)

– 1 Can of grey spray paint

And THE MOST IMPORTANT PART

-1 grey queen sized sheet for the base of the dress.
So that’s all the material… Now onto a part 2: creating the dress.And as you can probably tell… YES we are the queens of Value Village 😉

 

PART 2

Okay so part two it is! I’m gonna get right into this cause this will be long! …Before we started making the dress I may or may not have been *ahem* having fun with the masks and fangs….

blogger-image--1493793202blogger-image-1737781679
*clears throat* anyways. After a bit of messing around we opened the sheet, cut a hole in the center of the sheet and slid it on so we could get an idea of what we needed to do:

*that face tho*
*that face tho*

As you can see we did NO sewing at this point. We were just making sure everything worked and figured out how long it needed to be.
Once we did that I stayed in the dress while Gram measured how long the dress needed to be… While I stood on a chair watching Doctor Who with my sister.

blogger-image--258166539
Also Papa and my sis quite enjoyed the masks….

blogger-image-472471005 blogger-image--358262319

There was a lot of craziness going on…
BUT ANYWAYS. Gram pinned where we wanted the dress to fit then got sewing 😉 also… I didn’t take a picture but we shortened the dress so when I stood on the chair it was a few extra inches over my toes(to save room for the wire later)

blogger-image-1549405858 blogger-image-1416677326 blogger-image-702305140

Next my wonderful Papa took the wire for the bottom of the dress and used duct tape and some smaller wire to hold it together. 🙂

blogger-image-190886117

It was 7 feet of wire and this is how it looked when I lay it on the ground and stood inside (we needed to be sure I could walk around without constantly kicking the wire because 8+hours of that would get annoying.)

blogger-image-1886012266

While papa did the wire gram was going over the stitches she made earlier on her sewing machine 😉 then gram pinned the wire in the bottom.

blogger-image--756782538 blogger-image--1045626094

Meanwhile my sister was… Busy… Watching Dr.Who xD

blogger-image-742099365

Once the wire was completely sewn into the bottom I got back in the dress and stood on a stool while Grammy adjusted the length of the dress.

blogger-image-1940112789blogger-image--1250717519

blogger-image-188368855 blogger-image-1893783221

While gram did this I was on my phone texting. But hey, when you’re just standing there….

blogger-image--184996926blogger-image-613615486
So once we finished the dress ^^ we put The ‘Mummy Mesh’ fabric overtop and sewed it to the shoulders of the base of the dress.
blogger-image-1082773734blogger-image--1952624988

Just about done! Just need the belt (which we made using extra mummy mesh) then we wrinkled the fabric to make it look like stone.

blogger-image--1766383160
Dress= Completed.

 

After church the next morning we spray painted the wings and masks.

blogger-image--878170724
For the masks (I forgot to take pics) We took those plain ones then took the paper mache clay and made both the ‘attack’ face and the ‘not attack’ (??) face. We also stretched a piece of nylon over the holes and glued them inside *NOTE* Please do not cover the holes in the nose of the mask. I don’t want people suffocating! With the mask you will definitely have to take some ‘breathing breaks’ and take off the mask because after a while it does get a little difficult to breath.

blogger-image-69840466

In the end after trying a few different things with the arms and neck we ended up going to a Halloween store and buying black and white body paint (which we mixed to make it grey) and that was extremely effective and lasted the whole day.

So that’s the end of the tutorial 😉

Now for a couple pictures of the final product:

So here are pics from the Comic Con and the getting ready for going as well. The Comic Con was a lot of fun and PERFECT if you’ve never been to a comic convention because it was really small and not too overwhelming.

SO we ended up buying body paint the day before the Con because the arm thing we tried was NOT working. So as you can see on the first pic. We put the paint only up to where the mask would come to on my face (because covering my face completely when you couldn’t see it was pointless.)I also wanted somewhere on myself or my dress to be the words ‘Bad Wolf’ so we put it on my arm as if someone had seen the statue and added a little graffiti 😉

p.txt

p.txt-2

Now the hair….That was crazy. We ended up using both the cans of the coloured hairspray I got. (I have extremely thick hair AND there was 3 feet of it at this point) First we put the first can on (which gave my hair a silver-ish tint) then we did up my hair and put my (extra strength) hairspray on to keep the bun in place then we added the last can of coloured hairspray which really darkened it up. and let me say my hair was literally like stone and considering how thick my hair was it was nice because my hair stayed in the bun XD

p.txt-3

From here, I put on the dress and was ready to go!

 

For fun, here are some photos of the costume in action:

I GOT TO CHOKE BATMAN! I'm so proud ^_^. Thats just not something you get to brag about everyday so I embrace this.
I GOT TO CHOKE BATMAN! I’m so proud ^_^. Thats just not something you get to brag about everyday so I embrace this.

p.txt-4

Some guys from a Drama Group did a Doctor Who skit for us :D and YES that is my papa wearing the 'TARDIS Blue Future Companion' shirt I persuaded him to buy for the Con :D Also, if you notice I wasn't wearing the mask here, that happened a lot. There were many times I needed a 'breathing break' and would take the mask off so I could breath properly
Some guys from a Drama Group did a Doctor Who skit for us 😀 and YES that is my papa wearing the ‘TARDIS Blue Future Companion’ shirt I persuaded him to buy for the Con 😀 Also, if you notice I wasn’t wearing the mask here, that happened a lot. There were many times I needed a ‘breathing break’ and would take the mask off so I could breath properly
This girl was at the Drunken Sailor booth( for the record it is my FAV clothing store) and she ran up to me asking for a picture (she was the TARDIS) of course we agreed because....Whats Doctor Who without the TARDIS right?
This girl was at the Drunken Sailor booth( for the record it is my FAV clothing store) and she ran up to me asking for a picture (she was the TARDIS) of course we agreed because….Whats Doctor Who without the TARDIS right?

 

Guess who won the costume contest by scaring the crap out of the 3 judges??? ME OF COURSE!!!

People liked when I did this pose for some reason.... :P
People liked when I did this pose for some reason…. 😛

Hope this tutorial comes in handy to you all!

Adriana G.

2 thoughts on “Cosplays! – 4th Doctor, Amy Pond and a Weeping Angel!

  1. opinionatedgeekgirl says:

    AWESOME, I remember when you were getting ready for the con a few years ago, I was soo jealous that I wasn’t able to go, Great post Adrie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

