Big Fandoms and Little Fandoms

Hello Everybody.

It’s me, Rachel. And this is my first official post on fandom studio! This very exiting. I will be posting weekly on Mondays. It took me right to the very last minute to come up with an idea for a post. But this matter has been on my mind, and it is fandom related, so let’s start talking.

Big Fandoms and Little Fandoms

27 Things You’ll Only Understand If You Were Raised By ATeacher

I am going to stay within the YA fandoms. As we all know, there is such a large platform for fandoms now days with the internet. But something got me thinking the other day. I pin a lot of fandom related stuff on pinterest, and I start to see patterns. There is without a doubt a number of leading fandoms, (please don’t quote me if I’m wrong. These are just the ones I know of) 

We have The Shadow Hunters, Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Divergent, Percy Jackson, TFIOS, Twilight, Sherlock, Doctor Who, Marvel, etc, these are the ones that blow up the internet, the more recognized. (tell me in the comments other big ones I’ve missed.) You see these guys everywhere. And the common denominator in all of these, is that they have been adapted to film, that help blow them up bigger. The point about these being big; is if you ask a random person, they should know what you are talking about.

Then we have our baby fandoms. And these fandoms are not as advertised and publicly known as the others. You have to be a little more immersed in the reading/fandom world to know about it. These smaller fandoms are also those ones that you will see where somewhere in the description is will make a reference to another larger fandom. They are often heavily compared to the larger fandoms.

So what I am I saying here? (I’m still trying to work that part out)

 

Untitled

So why are some fandoms bigger than others? The fact that they simply have a larger fan base has many reasons. One, is the point I made a little bit earlier, from how these more average fandoms will get a TV deal, which will expand the community more cause of a larger media advertising. But that is not always the case. A fandom’s initial growth is left up to it’s fans. Fandoms are a community grown around a common interest in a TV show, book/s, or movie.  LOVE GROWS THE FANDOM!

So what about the smaller fandoms? These fandoms to ride the wave of the bigger ones. You have to dig a little deeper to find these. There are things you can do to help grow little fandoms: start or join communities, on places like Tumblr, Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook, blogs, Booktube. Talking about your fandoms, get other people interested in what you are interested in. Talking about it. Spread the love.

So yeah. That is today’s post, I know it was very a lot of ramble, and long. But I hope you guys liked it. Fangirl on, and spread all the fangirl love. Tell me down in the comment, what your favorite social media site for fandoms is *whispers* Tumblr…

-Rachel

3 thoughts on “Big Fandoms and Little Fandoms

  1. Kara_Author says:

    Aw this was great, Rachel! The wittle fandoms I think sometimes feel the most familiar, though, because there is a smaller range of people who are in them, so they are a tighter nit group. Then again, we’d all love to see our fandoms spread the love and TAKE OVER THE WORLD. Ahem. So, yeah. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rachel Day says:

      Yasss Supernatural! I was not very aware of that fandom at the time of writing this. But I’ve just started watching, and am a little obsessed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

